DEPRESSION GLASS

I hadda guide & accompany my AuntieHeather to the Depression Glass Show today.  My AuntieHeather walks with 3 legs just like GrandSire so she needs a steady dog to guide her.  She thanked me politely for my assistance.
 
The Depression Glass people were not so happy to see me, but I flipped my CGC badge.  It was easy to demonstrate I’m no bull in a china shop.  I’m just a dog. 
 
I hear the D word a lot lately.  Back in the day, before Depression was cured by Prozac, Depression Glass was Economic Stimulus & cure for the Great Depression
 
I Googled:

Depression glass is clear or colored translucent glassware that was distributed free, or at low cost, in the United States around the time of the Great Depression. The Quaker Oats Company, and other food manufacturers and distributors, put a piece of glassware in boxes of food, as an incentive to purchase. Movie theaters and businesses would hand out a piece simply for coming in the door.

Most of this glassware was made in the central and mid-west United States, where access to raw materials and power made manufacturing inexpensive in the first half of the twentieth century. More than twenty manufacturers made more than 100 patterns, and entire dinner sets were made in some patterns. Common colors are clear, or crystal; pink, pale blue, green, and amber. Less common colors include yellow, jadeite (opaque pale green), delphite (opaque pale blue), cobalt blue, red, black, and white (milk glass).

Although of marginal quality, Depression glass has been highly collectible since the 1960s. Due to its popularity as a collectible, Depression glass is becoming more scarce on the open market. Scarce pieces may sell for several hundred dollars. Some manufacturers continued to make popular patterns after World War II, or introduced similar patterns, which are also collectible. Popular and expensive patterns and pieces have been reproduced, and reproductions are still being made.

Hey.  Waita minute.  Hold the phone.  Who knows whether the glass we saw was Authentic or Junk Reproductions?

Depression Glass was the first Economic Stimulus Package tried to bring America out of the Great Depression, back in the day.  I guess it was kind of a dud though, because eventually we hadda fight the Great War to defeat the Great Depression.  Since we’ve already attempted to fight wars on 2 fronts & prescribed Prozac to everyone who has health care coverage, I guess our only hope for Economic Stimulus is Depression Glass.

Myself, personally, I like the lacy yellow patterns & the frilly green patterns best.  But that’s just me . . . just a dog. 

OpalK9 OTJ
This entry was posted in Hobbies. Bookmark the permalink.

One Response to DEPRESSION GLASS

  1. It’s not my first time to go to see this site, i am visiting this website dailly and get good facts from
    here everyday.

Leave a Reply

